Musing: What I don’t miss about Hong Kong

This blog post is a continuation of the previous musing, focusing on What I miss about Hong Kong which you can find here. So, without further ado, allow me to present you what I don’t miss about Hong Kong.

What I don’t miss:

1. Food that doesn’t taste like food.

Okay, price is more or less relative to quality. Given the point I have made regarding how Hong Kong food tastes less like food (Poultry in Hong Kong doesn’t taste like poultry, for instance), this is definitely one of the big no’s. I wouldn’t hesitate to point out that I’ve been to this 花園餐廳 in North Point and they served what was supposed to be beef. However, the meat has been so saturated and prepared with baking soda that it has been tenderized beyond recognition. I only realized halfway that I have been served pork instead of beef. Thank goodness I do not have a dietary restriction or else I’d have flipped my table, figuratively.

2. The rush mentality of Hong Kong people.

The rush mentality of Hong Kong means that common courtesies such as “Thank you”s and “Excuse me”s are often forgotten. I can’t blame the hectic high-density lifestyle where the most important thing is to get from Point A to Point B in the most efficient manner, but having stayed in Vancouver for the past four years, I can state that I dislike the lifestyle back in Hong Kong. Everything is done so in an impersonal manner, if not, self-centered. Well, it could be worse, I could be in the PRC. And people toting umbrellas. They have not a care in the world if your head gets sliced, stabbed, and skewered by the edges of their umbrellas.

3. Phone etiquette.

I am particularly looking at all of you. I don’t care if you are a Hong Konger, a Mainlander, a South Asian domestic helper, or a bunch of drunk western expats fresh from the Rugby Sevens. Seriously, no one needs to hear your loud chatter from across the bus.

4. The pollution, the bloody pollution.

The only time the pollution clears up is after a rainstorm. It is particularly at its worst when Hong Kong is in the eye of the tropical cyclones. The air becomes congested and you cannot take a deep breath without getting your generous dosage of carbon mono/dioxide and methane. Oh, and Hong Kong may have the Guiness World Record for the amount of skyscrapers you can squish in a square mile, but that does hell for the air circulation. The pollution is heavy, not just in density but also in weight. Hong Kong is literally drowning in its own filth.


“Musing: What I don’t miss about Hong Kong” was published on June 13, 2013, which is part of my muses. Read more about Vincent Wong’s work at https://vincentwongwanders.wordpress.com .

Leave a Reply

