Musing: Keeping my nose in the daily papers.

What do I do in the hour that I travel from point A to point B on public transport? I prefer to keep my nose in the daily papers.

I don’t keep my nose in the papers out of nostalgia for the times in which people have their focuses glued to their smartphones. I don’t keep my nose in the papers because I like the dry feeling of newsprint against my fingertips.

I do it because primarily, I don’t own a data plan on my smartphone, and I don’t feel like tackling on a humungous phone bill at the end of the month. Secondly, it is a pain to read text in such a small screen. I’d spend more time zooming in and zooming out than reading the papers.

Okay, I admit, I do use my smartphone to play the occasional Bejeweled Blitz or to get three stars on an Angry Birds level that has taken me thousands of attempts. I admit I skip the gossip and celebrities section because I just don’t like nosing into other people’s lives. I am not a fan of paparazzi as much as the next guy. Having stated what I do not read the newspapers for, I shall state that I read the newspaper for news on social movements, in addition to the daily lifestyle of Vancouver life. And from time to time, I will save the paper if I feel that the subject is worthy of analytical discussion or an article response in my blog.

So thank you, the Metro and 24H Vancouver newspaper dealers standing outside the Skytrain stations. It may be a tough, repetitive job, but you have my wholehearted grateful respect. Thank you for the papers you have provided me to read when I travel to university from home, and when I visit friends halfway across the Vancouver area.


Musing: Keeping my nose in the daily papers.” as published on June 23, 2013, which is part of my muses. Read more about Vincent Wong’s work at https://vincentwongwanders.wordpress.com .

Leave a Reply

