Musing: EXP Restaurant + Bar Deserves Replay Value

EXP Restaurant and Bar is a video game culture themed restaurant. From the Triforce Burger to the Red Dead Lemonade, this establishment along West Pender Street is one not to miss.

I’ve just been to EXP Restaurant and Bar earlier this evening with friends. I didn’t want to wait in a long line for the tables, so I decided to come along for an early dinner at 6pm. The first thing that caught my eye was a Street Fighter III arcade machine.

The restaurant was dark, partly because I was wearing my transition lenses glasses. When we were sat down, I started looking around the place. There were TVs everywhere, broadcasting gameplays of Legend of Zelda and Marvel vs Capcom. The waitress dropped by a couple of times to check on us, asking us whether we were ready to order. I had to ask for a bit more time because I was just fascinated with the amount of effort the copywriting team had used to make video game references.

I ordered the Triforce Burger.

According to the menu, the Triforce Burger consists of a burger patty with the triforce seared into it, a fried chicken breast, two slices of bacon, and lettuce on a buttered bun with fries. It filled me right up to the brim. THe fries were amazing. Even though they had cooled when I finished my burger, they retained their crispy crunchy texture instead of going soggy on me.

I would definitely recommend EXP Restaurant and Bar to my friends and future colleagues. If I have any gaming friends coming in from the States, this will be the first location for dinner for them. Great food, great ambience, great theme, and great service. My receipt concludes by proudly exclaiming “Please play again!”

You know what? This restaurant earns a replay value of A+. Although I don’t drink alcohol, go ahead, order some beer, and enjoy eating in video game heaven.

-insert trademark Legend of Zelda's Acquisition sound effect here-


“Musing: EXP Restaurant + Bar Deserves Replay Value” is published on July 27, 2013, which is part of my muses. Read more about Vincent Wong’s work at https://vincentwongwanders.wordpress.com .

EXP Restaurant and Bar is located at 309 W. Pender Street in Downtown, Vancouver, BC. You can find their official website here.

One thought on “Musing: EXP Restaurant + Bar Deserves Replay Value

  1. Pingback: EXP Restaurant & Bar 值得再「玩」多一回。 | Wandering Quest for Inspiration

Leave a Reply

